Code

Discussion on Real Physical Media: Physical Media Folders & SEO Rewrites in WordPress

Discussion on Real Physical Media: Physical Media Folders & SEO Rewrites in WordPress

By
Cart 1,523 sales
Recently Updated

devowl supports this item

Supported

This author's response time can be up to 1 business day.

174 comments found.

MikSco

MikSco Purchased

Hello, i have a problem with permission of uploaded files: all media uploaded have 0640 perms and is impossible to show on website. If i upload via FTP or change manually to 644 works well.

Without plugin there aren’t any problem.

Hey.

This is Matthias. Thanks for your message here on CodeCanyon.net.

Unfortunately, we no longer offer support via the CodeCanyon.net comments. If you have any questions or problems with our plugin, please open a ticket in the support form provided at https://devowl.io/support.

When opening your support ticket you will be asked some questions. Please fill them out so that we can get all the information we need to help you in the best possible way! Also feel free to use the screen capture to show us the problem in detail with plugin active and deactivated.

We hope for your understanding, as soon as we have all the important information about your issue in the new support ticket, we can help you promptly!

Best regards, Matthias :-)

Hi,

Please reset all my purchase codes.

Regards

Hey.

This is Matthias. Thanks for your message here on CodeCanyon.net.

Unfortunately, we no longer offer support via the CodeCanyon.net comments. If you have any questions or problems with our plugin, please open a ticket in the support form provided at https://devowl.io/support.

When opening your support ticket you will be asked some questions. Please fill them out so that we can get all the information we need to help you in the best possible way! Also feel free to use the screen capture to show us the problem in detail.

We hope for your understanding, as soon as we have all the important information about your issue in the new support ticket, we can help you promptly!

Best regards, Matthias :-)

Hi there. What will happen if i one day decide to delete that addons (i got real media library)? Will i have to migrate manually all my media files to virtual folders? Also what’s the difference with the wordpress repository plugin?

Hey.

This is Matthias and sorry for the delayed answer. Thanks for your message here on CodeCanyon.net.

Unfortunately, we no longer offer support via the CodeCanyon.net comments. If you have any questions or problems with our plugin, please open a ticket in the support form provided at https://devowl.io/support.

When opening your support ticket you will be asked some questions. Please fill them out so that we can get all the information we need to help you in the best possible way! Also feel free to use the screen capture to show us the problem in detail.

We hope for your understanding, as soon as we have all the important information about your issue in the new support ticket, we can help you promptly!

Best regards, Matthias :-)

Hi guys, we have been trying to organise our media files so we can find the old ones and clean it all up but have noticed the files that have moved are not displaying on the products correctly

Hey! Thanks for your message, and sorry for the delayed response. Can you please open a support ticket via https://devowl.io/support so we can check this further? Regards, Matthew :-)

MikSco

MikSco Purchased

Hello I have purchased Real Physical Media but i receive this error when i try to activate licenze:

“Something has gone wrong (Controllo cookie fallito). It could be that you have configured your WordPress instance in such a way that you have blocked the WordPress REST API. Find out how to deal with this here.”

REST API are enabled and my .htaccess doesn’t stop requests from sites.

How can i activate licenze?

Hey! Can you please open a support ticket via https://devowl.io/support so we can check this? Regards, Matthew :-)

Hello, I keep seeing the notification that there’s an update, but when I download the latest version from here it’s 1.5.12. The latest version is apparently 1.5.15, as outlined in your changelog:

https://devowlio.gitbook.io/changelogs/wordpress-plugins/real-physical-media#1.5.15-2022-09-21

Why is this version not yet on CodeCanyon?

Hey! Something went wrong with our latest deploy so files got not updated on Envato. I have just uploaded the new files to Envato and they should be reviewed and be available soon! Regards, Matthew :-)

Thanks!

Hi there,

I am having issues moving files from virtual locations to physical locations. I have clicked the Physical folders without lockfile (only folders with uploads) button to create a file structure and then add all the site files to Media File Renamer and processed the queue. Only one folder has had files moved to it everything else is still currently in its old file. I have repeated this multiple times with no effect. Something appears to be broken.

“Can you please try to move a file with “Media > Renamer” and check if the URLs got updated”

I have tried both the manual method about 50 times, and the automatic method about 50 times. To the point where I just decided to recreate folders and manually reupload image because it would take less time than setting them up inside the product filter plugin I use.

I have also disabled all un-needed plugins to check for a conflict. This had no effect.

I add items to the auto queue, the queue processes and nothing happens.

I move files around between folder inside RML and nothing happens to the url.

I am also not going to manually reupload all the images as there are around 2600 that I would have to relink and I have better thigs to be doing with my time.

The plugin and its freemium add-on Media File Renamer do not work for the purposes of moving an already established library from wordpress urls to PMF urls.

I recorded a quick screencap video for you guys to show that nothing is actually happening https://youtu.be/wEpClXtZCfg

Hi again! I see the issue. For some reason, Real Media Library detects the file as file shortcut so it assumes there is no physical file and cannot move anything. Can you please contact us via https://devowl.io/support so we can check this for you? Regards, Matthew :-)

This is a bug report, or feature request: Here is a video: https://www.screencast.com/t/Uc2ftEzco

Simple summary: wp_rml_get_by_absolute_path() does not work correctly when sub folders have the SAME name as other subfolders. The folders are physically created correctly, but can not be accessed by the wp_rml_get_by_absolute_path() function when situations arise where the ID of the path is unknown and needs to be queried by the wp_rml_get_by_absolute_path() function.

This is because the database wp_realmedialibrary => absolute column does not name the path correctly based on the real folder structure.

Suggested patch: Ensure that when the wp_realmedialibrary => absolute column is added the absolute/path is indeed correct. Do not add “numbering” to the sub folders since thats not how the folders physically exist on the server.

The effects this documentation here: https://docs.devowl.io/real-media-library/php/index.html

Hi WorkLikeItLooks,

you have opened a support ticket at devowl.io with the same question, which I forwarded to a college from the development team. He will come back to you via email in a timely manner!

Best regards,

Jan

Cool. Thanks! I will keep an eye out.

Can you tell me what happens if I just stop using your plugins? Will there be any adverse effect such as broken images?

I need great SEO and site speed I find that your plugins are not that efficient as our site grows. If your plugin creates re-directs and these keep growing then surely that impacts on site speed and efficiency as the site has to consider each re-direct?

Please tell me I am wrong, but at present I need to use two of your plugins and one extra for renaming to simply organise my images into folders. Apart from being nicely organised – I am trying to understand really what the benefit it to having them installed when I am trying to keep my site lean and as free from plugins as I can

Thanks

Hi websitedude1985,

Thank you for your request. If you disable our plugins, the media library will remain in the state it was in last time. As long as the URLs of the images are stored correctly in the posts, you will not find any broken images. Only created redirects, in case the URL could not be changed correctly in all places when moving the images, will be lost.

Real Media Library and Real Physical Media loads only in the backend of your website and for logged in users in the frontend for visual page builders. The plugin should accordingly not affect the page speed for your website visitors.

If you have any further questions, please let me know!

Best regards,

Jan

Hi Jan, Thanks for this response – my issue is the Backend of our site admin is really slow. Painful in fact. When I look at the issue – Autoload data is high – and your plugins contribute to that a lot – this is my main issue. Also – having lots of Re-Directs setup causes issues too and of course your plugin creates those – ideally server level re-directs are better but this is no good if needing to use your plugins.

Our website has lots of products and growing – so as we do this the harder it is to keep good performance. I welcome thoughts on this – The reason I contacted you was down to the fact the Autoload data and your plugins loading in the backend is taking too much time

Hi again! Can you please open a support ticket via https://devowl.io/support so we can check this on your end? Regards, Matthew :-)

I get this notice on installing: ” To use Real Physical Media you need to install a media file handler”

Which prompts this plugin Media File Renamer Author: Jordy Meow

I do not want to use that plugin.

For our purposes we ONLY want the ability to manage folders

We will write any custom code needed to do this in our membership site

Questions:

“What happens if I remove Media File Renamer?”

“Can we use your ADDON without any Renamer at all?”

Hi WorkLikeItLooks,

as described in the product description of Real Physical Media, it is a add-on for Real Media Library and Media File Renamer. As it is an add-on, you need to use the “base plugins” Real Media Library and Media File Renamer.

If you just want to have a virtual folder structure in your WordPress media library, Real Media Library is the plugin for you.

I hope this explanation helps out!

Best regards,

Jan

After buying the plugin extracting the downloads from the zip folder all of the .PO language files cause an error in extraction

Problem: Download “all files and documentation” from Envato Extract the zip folder on Windows 10 ERROR CODE: “0×80010135 – Path too long” happens on all PO files

Hey! Thanks for your message. Can you please try to extract the ZIP in another folder (e.g. directly in C:/) as it looks like you want to extract the files in an already long path, which Windows cannot handle. Regards, Matthew :-)

ASX_Dev

ASX_Dev Purchased

Hi this plugin is not playing nice with Renamer and WP Paint – WordPress Image Editor.

After Editing the image… WP_Paint saves the image with postfix wp—fsdfasdf45834 … random characters that is. Renamer recognises this, and auto rename will not work, it will say file already exists, which it doesn’t since it doesn’t appear in media list.

Now for the Real Physical Media. When I give up on Renamer… and just settle for moving the file… What happens is RPM doesn’t move the image I’m looking at, the one appearing in the media list. Instead it moves some copy/past revision of the imaged (unedited one) and replaces my posts with this unedited version. Basically it’s grabbing and moving the wrong file, it’s moving the file it doesn’t show in the Media. some hidden revision instead.

Hey! Apologies for my delayed response. Unfortunately, I do not understand the issue correctly. In general, Real Physical Media is using “Media File Renamer” under the hood to rename files. What happens, if you deactivate Real Physical Media temporarily and try to rename that file via “Media > Renamer”? Does the same issue occur? Can you please share a short screencast video showing the issue? Regards, Matthew :-)

Presale Q:

Bought Avada which includes Filebird, does this plugin work with Filebird?

Regards

Hi there! Unfortunately, Real Physical Media only works with Real Media Library (an alternative to Filebird) as RPM is an add-on to Real Media Library. Regards, Matthew :-)

Hallo Matthias, hi Matthias,

we already had a conversation back in 2020. Is it still you? So we could continue in German, too. I am wondering, if there is a possibility with Real Media Library to protect a folder or files with a members only access. Any recommendations for that?

Thank you very much, Christian Frey

Hallo Mattias, leider scheint da schon was schief gegangen zu sein:

Entwicklung Das Limit an aktivierten Clients für diesen Lizenzschlüssel wurde bereits erreicht. Er kann derzeit für 1 Client aktiviert werden. Im Kundencenter kannst du die Anzahl möglicher Clients anpassen bzw. neue Lizenzschlüssel für dein bereits gekauftes Abonnement anlegen.

meine Entwickler-Umgebung ist home.ostseeplatz.de

Hi Christian! Magst du uns bitte unter https://devowl.io/de/support kontaktieren? :-)

I noticed that the redirect does not work for the audio files: why? that would be great!

Hi! Thanks for your comment. I just tried to reproduce the issue, but the redirect works as expected. Can you please open a support ticket via https://devowl.io/support so we can check this for you? Regards, Matthew :-)

If I write a post attaching an audio file to a certain folder, everything works fine. If I move the audio file after publishing the article, this article will not follow moving the audio file to the new folder.

Hey again! Can you please contact us via https://devowl.io/support so we can do further checks for you? Regards, Matthew :-)

Sorry, but seo redirect works only for images, not also for audio, pdf and other media?

Hi there! I will reply to your other comment. Regards, Matthew :-)

although I have correctly set the cronjob both in my hosting and on an external service like cron-job.org, the counter on the top left of queue is updated only if I am logged in as admin

Can you please check what response body the cron jobs get after they are executed? Regards, Matthew :-)

solved!

How can I stop the upload queue, for resume another time?

Hi there! Thanks for your message. What do you mean exactly? Regards, Matthew :-)

I’ve push button to adjust file into folders. My files are abou 12k. Already enabled cron for process. Now I’ve to stop process, because it consume many cpu

Hi again! Unfortunately, we do not have currently any pause mechanism but already on our backlog. For this, you need currently clear the database table `wp_realphysicalmedia_queue`. Regards, Matthew :-)

Hello,

I like plugins I have bought from you : - Real Media Library - Real Physical Media - Real Thumbnail Generator

I would like to continue my subscription, but I encounter a serious functionnal problem with all of them.

I encounter the error :

One or more WordPress plugins tried to call the WordPress REST API, which failed. Most likely a security plugin or a web server configuration disabled the REST API. Please make sure that the following REST API namespaces are reachable to use your plugin without problems:

- real-media-library/v1 - real-physical-media/v1 - real-thumbnail-generator/v1 What is the WordPress REST API and how to enable it? Learn more.

I have deactivated all others plugins but your plugins don’t work properly.

I use Wordpress version 5.9.1

Can you please help me ?

Hi there! Thanks for your message. I will reply to your email. Regards, Matthew :-)

Hi, I’m using this with the real media library plugin by you as well, which I’ve also purchased a liscense for. Now I previously had physical sub folders in my wp-uploads folder from a previous plugin that this is replacing. However neither this or real media library pick up that those sub folders already physically exist? Is there a way to get it to? I’m honestly not going to resort all the images again. another media library plugin I was testing before this one was able to pick up on the sub folder structure and asked to convert over. But this one hasn’t

Hi there! Thanks for your message. Please check out this: https://devowl.io/knowledge-base/real-media-library-upload-files-via-ftp/ – if the plugin is no longer in your interest, we are sorry, and you can request a refund here: https://help.market.envato.com/hc/en-us/articles/202821460-Can-I-Get-A-Refund- Regards, Matthew :-)

Managed to solve the issue by installing “media library folders” plugin which then converts the physical folders to the media library. Then I can use the real media plugin to import that data across from the folders plugin. But it’s kinda stupid that I’ve paid $100 aud and I have to install 4 plugins to get it all to work properly. Maybe consider it feedback and how you can improve the plugin. But I also have a really important issue in regards to activation of liscenses not working which I would really like a response to asap. I’ve already sent a support ticket to your other website

Hi again! Thanks for your feedback, I have added this to our backlog for discussion. Yeah, I have already replied to your license support ticket. Regards, Matthew :-)

by
by
by
by
by
by

Tell us what you think!

We'd like to ask you a few questions to help improve CodeCanyon.

Sure, take me to the survey