Code

Reviews for Ajax'd PHP Login, User Management & Site Security

80 Reviews

for Documentation Quality

4 stars because despite the "broken" aspects it was only $8 (including handling fee), it's still a decent value despite the plethora of bugs and poor documentation.

PROS: Cheap and a lot of useful stuff in the admin control panel which makes a nice foundation for further development. A lot of useful classes, if only they were documented.

CONS: This will not work "out of the box", the documentation is incomplete at best, the code overall is scattered, sloppy, inconsistent with little to no commenting. Bollocks! You've got good ideas, but comments and organization are important too!

BUT For only $8 I expected as much. Certainly I've found better for free on GitHub, but I liked the screenshots, and indeed there is a lot to like here "overall", lots of classes, and things are "almost" working. And once working is fairly feature rich. Ish.

Nevertheless, definitely "some assembly required" and I've had to do a lot of rewriting, but the lack of documentation & commenting meant I also had to spend a lot of time TRACING which I absolutely hate, especially when files are scattered about with no roadmap.

TO POTENTIAL BUYERS:

It's worth getting if you want a package you need to customize substantially anyway, a lot of the "bones" are there. BUT a few little things to help:

* Change the default mail to SENDMAIL.
* The RECAPTIA used is obsolete and non-functional.
* JQuery is overused (enough with the trendy slide animations), and in the example files called in a way that interferes with TLS (tip: remove all "http://" and just use "//" for script src & remove the obsolete "type" in script calls.)
* The term "sans" means "NOT", all the email forms are in html, yet they all are titled "sans_html" which implies they are not html, but are??!?
* Inconsistent issues, such as scripts that call for a folder called "images" but the folder is actual called "img".

It's going to take me a little time to clean it up, but mostly happy w/the caveats noted.

for Design Quality

This script has not been updated since 2017, it is starting to get out-dated. If would be nice to see some further effort put behind the script and bring your code back to the modern age.

nadlabs

Author response

A one star is a bit unfair as the core code is, for the most part, up to date and the only thing that may need some updating is the UI in the admin panel (the front end is supported by bootstrap which is as modern as it gets).

But hey-ho. your review, your choice.

for Code Quality

super worth it .. a must buy for your admin and security needs.

for Customer Support

Excellent customer support and willingness to help out with installation. Now I get to dig in and see what this program can really do, so far it looks like exactly what I was looking for.

for Code Quality

I rated 1 because I could not rate lower and the comment is across the board. I should have donated the money to a charity instead. Poor documentation, inconsistent interface, it does not use ajax in the administration interface causing you to refresh the page manually in EVERY panel and this occasionally causes you to have to re-login, thus more evidence of inconsistencies in the interface and the software.

No documentation provided on customisation, definitely in development and not even at alpha release quality yet. You would spend as much time trying to get this working as any of the alternative open-source options with the exception of product consistency.

Wait for a later release and hopefully it will be more complete but there will be no way of verifying completeness without buying it.

nadlabs

Author response

Hi Rick,

Thanks for the feedback.

Following on from our email conversation where you claimed you had searched and searched for the documentation before buying the product - I'd like to point out that the link to the documentation is right in the product description under the very large heading entitled "Documentation & Code Examples". Not sure how you missed it but there you go.

As for the product and the way it works - well the demo is available online before you purchase as well so I'm not sure how you missed that as it comes right at the top of the page.

Finally the product doesn't require you to re-login each time - that is plainly false unless there is something wrong with your server settings and the way it manages sessions. Anyone who visits the demo can see that.

Kind regards

Nadeem

for Bugs

by SW - Canada 4 years ago

by CU - United States 4 years ago

for Customer Support

by AS - Norway 5 years ago

for Design Quality

by RJ - United Kingdom 5 years ago

by FL - Germany 5 years ago

by OÖ - Turkey 5 years ago

for Customer Support

by AT 5 years ago

by LO - United States 5 years ago

for Design Quality

by GR - Canada 5 years ago

for Customer Support

by PS 5 years ago

for Customer Support

by HA - Australia 5 years ago

by OS - United States 5 years ago

by DJ - Canada 5 years ago

by
by
by
by
by
by