CodeCanyon

Posts by PhotoshopExtra

42 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United Kingdom
PhotoshopExtra says

adobetutorialz.com, photoshoptutorials.com are all popular Adobe trademark related sites. Adobe does not sue them for breach of trademark on the following reasons:

1) Adobe doesn’t know they exist 2) Should Adobe sue them this will make them look bad and damages their reputation 3) Most important of all: These sites help build a community using their products, encourages to use their products and teaches users how to use and produce quality work whilst using their software product making Adobe a leading software development company that everyone wants to use and be associated with.

To be honest I wouldn’t fear to have a domain name or site with an Adobe trademark, the chances of you getting sued are rare (but not none). There are so many Adobe trademark related sites out there that are hugely popular and have never been sued. Remember Adobe wants people to use their software so these sites actually help promote their products and build a community that sponsor their software. Adobe wouldn’t go out their way to sue you as it makes them look bad and the time and expense is not worthwhile.

You may want to try and contact those site owners like adobetutorialz.com, photoshoptutorials.com etc to ask for their advice and view.

When you contacted Adobe directly no one from the operations team or support team can answer that question and Adobe definitely wouldn’t agree to allowing you to use their trademark either incase it directly damages their brand. But if you are inclined to produce a quality, helpful site in promoting Adobe’s product there will be no reason for them to do so.

So go ahead and make a smashing Photoshop tutorial site that everyone loves and raves about.

Oh man that was an AWESOME reply, just what i was looking for.

It didnt make sense to me that there are already plenty of legitimate and quality websites out there with “photoshop” in the domain that offer tutorials and resources, and yet havent been contacted by Adobe about breaching trademark usage etc.

Mostly its to give me reassurance that if i DO spend countless hours branding my website and marketing it, that i wont have to live in fear of Adobe telling me to take it down etc.

Ive tried my best to contact the owners of those sites, but no’one responds, maybe they think im from Adobe or something more sinister i dont know.

Anyway thanks agian for your help.

42 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United Kingdom
PhotoshopExtra says

Yeah thats what i thought, or maybe Adobe doesnt see them as a threat.

But wouldnt be such a waste if Adobe contacted them and threatened legal action, all that work branding and marketing their sites down the drain.

42 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United Kingdom
PhotoshopExtra says

Thanks guys.

So any idea why the really popular sites like these havent been taken down or sued?:

  • psdfan.com
  • photoshoptutorialz.com
  • photoshoplady.com
  • photoshopstar.com
  • ^^ They seem to be doing fine, they all have tons of content up, and some sites like Photoshop Lady for example, are really established, so why hasnt a popular site like that which is taking advantage of the adobe trademark been taken down yet?

    Sorry if i have a few questions guys.

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says

    Well how come all the sites on Buysellads.com with names including photoshop in the domains havent been sued yet?

    There must be over 30 sites alone with psd, photoshop, adobe etc in their name…

    I tried calling up Adobe, but they were useless, it seemed no department could deal with the question lol.

    So all these sites (adobe tutorialz.com , psdfan.com, photoshop lady, photoshop star) are all wasting their time due to the inevitability of being sued and closed down by Adobe?

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says

    Hi guys,

    Im thinking about starting my own Photoshop tutorial website, but i need to know about the Adobe trademark before i start branding and creating my site.

    I see websites like:

    http://www.adobetutorialz.com http://www.photoshoptutorials.com http://www.psdfan.com

    ^ They all have Adobe copyrighted terms in their domains, this is pretty much what my domain is http://www.photoshopextra.net (not up yet), do people ever run into problems with these trademarks in their domains?

    I can understand if somebody registered adobephotoshopcs5.com or something, but for me it will just be photoshop followed by “extra”, and i have a few other names like http://www.photoshopbreeze.com.

    What i want to know is will i run into any problems in the future with Adobe legal issues if i create a site with photoshop in the domain name?

    Thanks guys, i know its a long post, but i would appreciate a reply, thanks :)

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says

    Hey guys i am having a problem with my wordpress-based site, and integrating a content slider…

    I was wondering if anyone knew of a cheap coder who isnt a scammer?

    Seriously, i have used a few sites now and have just been messed around so bad…

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says

    Please send me an invite to

    eddybiel @ hotmail [dot] com

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says

    haha welcome back Amanda, hope you had a fantastic honeymoon, i think i need a break myself soon lol :p

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says

    I’m a big fan of Breitling watches, they are truely beautiful. Now if i only i could afford one :D

    www.breitling.com

    42 posts
    • Bought between 10 and 49 items
    • Exclusive Author
    • Has been a member for 3-4 years
    • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
    • United Kingdom
    PhotoshopExtra says
    It times out after a month. You get gold if you’re really good, that doesn’t time out. Now where the heck is my silver badge, I caught 6 icon packs yesterday during review :P and an additional 4 authors ripping.

    lol nice work Arik ! :D haha

    by
    by
    by
    by
    by